Sunday, January 21, 2007

Vegetarian Sushi!

Being vegetarian in Japan is tough, especially when most people don't understand the definition. In Japan, ham, bacon, fish, and seafood are often considered vegetables. Last night in Ginza, I had a really special treat: vegetarian sushi! We visited a traditional Japanese restaurant and asked that they prepare my course as vegetarian as possible. Though a few dishes contained the usual dashi (fish broth), others were completely vegetarian (tempura, sushi, etc.). I think this was the best "Japanese formal meal" I've ever had.

2 comments:

bryan said...

man, vegetarian sushi rules

Jeff J Jawk said...

Amazing!
I have always heard how hard it is to be vegetarian there...